Worcester Classical Guitar Society

Concert at St. George’s Church Hall, Barbourne  June 11th
An afternoon Concert with Tea & Cakes in the Garden

A themed Concert on all those places we couldn’t visit…
Come and enjoy them with us instead……..

Xufei Yang from Fei's garden

Summer Concert

Guitar Society

Flamenco with Oscar Herrero

Concert in Kinver

Michael Durrant

Leonora Spangenburger

Malvern May 25th

Miloš Karadagliç

Duo Siquera Lima plays Tico Tico

Cawsand GuitarFest

Cawsand Bay
September 9th - 11th

Duo Siquera Lima plays Tico Tico

James Girling

with Halesowen Orchestra
July 9th

Quinteto Astor Piazzolla Tango Music

RBC Guitar Day

Birmingham Conservatoire
June 12th

Oscar Herrero Flamenco Tuition

Michael Christian Durrant

Concert in Kinver

Jul 16th 2022

Michael will be returning to the stage for a special concert performance in his hometown of Kinver on Saturday 16th July 2022.  Please note this date has changed from the February date originally shown.

Having taken a break from performing for the past couple of years, Michael will be presenting a new programme of music  The link to the Eventbrite website below gives full details of the evening’s programme which includes  Bach's timeless Chaconne and the deeply evocative Invocación y Danza by Joaquín Rodrigo. 

Tickets are available now by following the link below:

Tickets Available  HERE

Leonora Spangenburger at Siccas Guitars

 Malvern May 25th  Birmingham May 28th

Miloš Karadagliç

Homage to Segovia

The popular guitarist Miloš makes a visit to Malvern’s Forum Theatre on May 25th and to Birmingham Town Hall on May 28th to play a programme that includes some well loved pieces from the Classical Guitar Repertoire.  The programme as currently listed on the B Music website includes:
Fernando Sor;   Variations on a Theme by Mozart
Bach:  Chaconne
Albeniz:  Asturias, Granada & Sevilla, from the Suite Española
Villa-Lobos:  Five Preludes

Miloš will no doubt provide an excellent interpretation of these pieces and a memorable evening’s entertainment.  Get your tickets early - this will be a sell-out.

 Birmingham Tickets Available  HERE

 Malvern Tickets Available  HERE

Music from Xufei Yang's Garden

Sat June 11th 2:30 pm

Guitar Society Concert

St George’s Church Hall, Barbourne

This year we are holding a Summer Concert with the theme “Places”.
We are holding it in St George’s Church Hall on Saturday June 11th at 2:30 pm, to make use of the garden - weather permitting.  
Refreshments in the interval will be Tea and Cakes; and coffee of course will be available.
We’ve all been unable or unwilling to travel in the Covid pandemic, so we are bringing PLACES to you.
As always the concert will include the Guitar Orchestra, The Worcester Guitar Quartet and the Worcester Youth Guitar Orchestra.

Tickets will be £5 on the door, under 16s free admission.

Duo Siqueira Lima plays Tico Tico, one guitar, 4 hands

Alison Smith
Soloist and Organiser

CawsandBay GuitarFest

Cornwall, Sept 9th - 11th

The Cawsand Bay GuitarFest is returning for 2022 following successful festivals in 2019 and 2021. The location is the Rame peninsula in South East Cornwall, near Torpoint and just across the Tamar river from Plymouth.
The event includes Workshops, Master Classes, Concerts, Ensemble playing and talks from luthiers.  Individual  concerts will be given by Alsion Smith, Craig Ogden and the Eden-Still Duo.  Sounds like an interesting weekend in a stunning location.
For full details please visit the GuitarFest website, the link is provided below.

Anfaz by 3M, African Kora Music

Fantasia Para Un Gentilhombre

James Girling

Concerto Soloist with Halesowen Orchestra

The exceptionally talented James Girling features as a Concerto Soloist with the Halesowen Orchestra.  He will be playing Rodrigo’s Fantasia Para Un Gentilhombre.
This is part of an evening of Spanish and Spanish influenced music.  James Girling is an up and coming star, so good opportunity to see him and support a local Midlands orchestra.
The concert takes place at Halesowen’s Cornbow Hall on Saturday July 9th at 7:30 pm.

Details & Tickets  HERE

Quinteto Astor Piazzolla tango music

Vida Guitar Quartet

Royal Birmingham Conservatoire

Guitar Day 
June 12th 11 am until 9 pm

A full day of guitar music is on offer at the Royal Birmingham Conservatoire as it opens up after a long period of Covid restrictions.  And what a day it promises to be, with recitals, masterclasses, guitar building demonstration and evening concerts.  Just a day after our own afternoon concert at St. George’s Hall, Barbourne too!

This is a great opportunity for lovers of classical guitar and great value too - £20 for the full day or £15 for the evening concert only.  The evening concert features the Vida Guitar Quartet and also the excellent Alexandra Whittingham.

Full details of all events are shown on the RBC website, just follow the link below.  As well as the full description the webpage includes links to music by both the Vida Guitar Quartet and by Alexandra Whittingham.  

RBC Guitar Day Link HERE

© 2019/2020/2021  Worcester Classical Guitar Society